Gerrans wins top Aussie cycling honor

John Eisner

TOP HONORS: Simon Gerrans was announced as the Sir Hubert ‘Oppy’ Opperman Medal winner as 2014 Australian Cyclist of the Year last Friday.

SIMON Gerrans has added the ‘Oppy Medal’ to his engorged resume, with the Victorian cyclist claiming his maiden Sir Hubert ‘Oppy’ Opperman Medal and Trophy at the Jayco 2014 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards in Melbourne on Friday night.

It was a triple celebration for the Mansfield born cyclist as he also claimed Elite Male Road Cyclist of the Year Award and the Subaru People’s Choice Award, following thousands of online votes by cycling fans throughout October.

“It’s a huge honor to win the Oppy and have my name alongside previous winners like Russell Mockridge, Cadel Evans, Anna Meares and Caroline Buchanan who have all done great things for cycling in Australia,” Gerrans said.

“And it’s really nice to be recognised in this way, particularly with so many people in the room who have been such an important part of my career.”

A stellar 2014 from Gerrans kicked off in Australia in January when he claimed his second career win at the Road National Championships in Ballarat, before claiming overall honors at the Tour Down Under for a third time.

Gerrans then became the first Australian to win the Liège-Bastogne-Liège, and the first cyclist in history to do the double at the Canadian World Tour races, winning both the GP Cycliste de Quebec and GP Cycliste de Montréal.

To continue reading this story, click here to access our digital edition


In Person

98 High St
Mansfield, 3724


Office Hours

9:00am to
5pm Mon-Fri

By Phone

5775 2115

When to book

Courier Classifieds

Noon Monday

North East Jobs

3pm Friday

Vehicles & Boats

Four weeks advertising with picture from only $20

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!