Huge, successful Merrijig campdraft

web---campdraft3OPEN WINNER: Zac Jackson won the Cyril and Peter McCormack Memorial Open for Open. He is pictured with Merrijig Campdraft Committee member Graham Pickett.

THE weather could not have been better for the Merrijig Campdraft, as more than 100 competitors took their turn on the magnificent McCormack Park Arena.

With around 600 runs taking place over the weekend, the highlight was Sunday’s Open For Open Cyril and Peter McCormack Memorial event, where the best of the best battled it out for cash, a rug and the perpetual trophy.

Won by Zac Jackson, who had a first round score of 83, backed up by his final round score of 91, the Open for Open was a tough event with many not making the required course.

The best local rider went to Zac Jackson, with the other event winners being: Maiden 1. Abbey Webb; Maiden 2. Des Castine; Junior – Macey Tanner – Rodwell’s Best Local Rider; Juvenile – Mark Marriot; Ladies – Lauren Ryder; Open (Open and Novice) – Andrew Nicol; Novice- Chevelle Gunston; Open – Zac Jackson; Encouragement-Clive Allen.

To continue reading this story, click here to access our digital edition


In Person

98 High St
Mansfield, 3724


Office Hours

9:00am to
5pm Mon-Fri

By Phone

5775 2115

When to book

Courier Classifieds

Noon Monday

North East Jobs

3pm Friday

Vehicles & Boats

Four weeks advertising with picture from only $20

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!