Barjarg CFA 750 years service

David Scott

CENTURIES OF SERVICE: Members of Barjarg Rural Fire Brigade with more than 750 years of service include (from back, left) John O’Halloran, Jeff Rowlands, Graham Tie, David Daws, Rowan Neely, Chris Bennetts, Amanda Marshall, Jan Stone and Tony Tehan; (third row) Wally Czochara, Kirk Stone(for Tom Stone) and David Scott; (second row) Fred Forrest, Don Cummins, Joan Tie, Julie Stewart, Les Mitchell and Sev Steinlauf; (front) Rob Hall, Simon Mountain, Scott Maynes, Stephen Rabie and Richard Godden.

THE Barjarg community got together on Saturday, November 29 to acknowledge almost 750 years of voluntary service contributed by members of the Barjarg Rural Fire Brigade.

Mansfield group officer Rowan Neely presented long service awards to 23 brigade members, congratulating the recipients and explaining the nature and origins of the awards.

Brigade captain, David Scott, took the opportunity to present a community award to Ormond (Ormie) Hall.

Mr Hall has worked tirelessly to document and preserve aspects of Barjarg’s history.

A reading of the history of the brigade prepared by him proved to be of great interest.

Mr Scott also acknowledged the role Bill Thompson (now deceased) played in reviving and energising the brigade.

To continue reading this story, click here to access our digital edition


In Person

98 High St
Mansfield, 3724


Office Hours

9:00am to
5pm Mon-Fri

By Phone

5775 2115

When to book

Courier Classifieds

Noon Monday

North East Jobs

3pm Friday

Vehicles & Boats

Four weeks advertising with picture from only $20

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!